

Burrows Award

The Award commemorates George Joseph Burrows (1888-1950). Burrows was appointed to the staff of the University of Sydney in 1919 and made important contributions to coordination chemistry during the following twenty-one years, especially in the field of metal-tertiary arsine complexes. Collaborators of Burrows included E.E. Turner, Sir Ian Wark and Sir Ronald Nyholm. Burrows was the Royal Society of New South Wales' Liversidge Lecturer in 1940. The 30th Burrows Award is to be presented at the RACI 2022 National Congress in Brisbane, 3-8 July 2022.

Eligibility

The Award is based on consideration of the candidate's scientific work published in the past 10 years, together with other evidence of their standing in the international community. A major portion of the relevant scientific work must have been carried out in Australia and/or New Zealand. The eligibility period may be extended, to take into account interruptions, consistent with Australian Research Council (ARC) guidelines.

Nominations

Candidates, who must be financial members of the RACI or NZIC at the time of nomination, may apply personally or be nominated by other members. The nomination should contain the following:

- a brief curriculum vitae;
- a list of publications, for the timeframe relevant to the nomination, demonstrating significant contribution to the field of inorganic chemistry;
- reprints of no more than 10 of the most significant of these publications;
- any supporting information that could be helpful to the Selection Committee.

Nominees should also arrange for two independent testimonials to be forwarded to the Division Secretary.

The Award will consist of a citation and a metal sculpture, free registration at the RACI 2022 National Congress, a return economy airfare to Brisbane from the awardee's home city and \$750 towards accommodation expenses (if the awardee is not a resident of Brisbane).

The Award will be decided by a selection panel appointed by the Divisional Committee and chaired by the Chair of the Division. The panel will comprise representatives from the Divisional Committee and may include *ad hoc* members appointed from outside the Committee to provide greater expertise and diversity when required. The Committee reserves the right not to make an award.

It is the responsibility of the Divisional Committee to ensure that there is no conflict of interest (in terms of collaborative research involvement or institutional bias) between members of the Selection Committee and any of the applicants.

Nominations and testimonials should be forwarded to the Division Secretary by email to BurrowsAward@raci.org.au by November 26th, 2021.